◈ Habits · Comparison

Free habit trackers with unlimited habits: limits checked

We read the free tier of 25 iPhone habit trackers on October 1, 2026. Only 3 state a number. Here is every limit, price and ad policy we could verify.

We make Orbit, one of the apps on this page. Orbit is on pre-order and releases October 6, 2026. Facts about other apps come from their App Store listings and their own sites, listed under Sources. Nothing here is sponsored and there are no affiliate links.

Flat lay of a mug, to-do list, and pen on an orange surface for planning inspiration.

Photo by Tara Winstead on Pexels

Key takeaways
  • Of 24 other habit trackers we checked on October 1, 2026, only 3 state a number for their free tier: Habitify (3 habits), HabitKit (4) and Routinery (2 routines).
  • Five more say unlimited habits is a paid feature but do not say how many the free tier allows; the rest say nothing about a cap.
  • 22 of the 24 list in-app purchases on the App Store. Streaks is a one-time $5.99 app; HabitShare lists no purchases at all.
  • 8 of the 24 declare 'Data Used to Track You' on their App Store privacy label.
  • Before you commit, add one more habit than the free number. If the app stops you, you found the cap in two minutes.

A free habit tracker with unlimited habits is harder to find than the App Store makes it look. Almost every habit app is free to download, and almost every one sells an upgrade. What the listing rarely says is where the free tier stops. We read the App Store listing and the developer's own site for 25 iPhone habit trackers, checked on October 1, 2026, and wrote down every limit we could verify, and where we could not.

Disclosure: we make Orbit, one of the 25 apps below. It is in the table under the same rules as everyone else, and the first section is about the other 24.

The short answer

  • Three apps state a number for their free tier. Habitify: 3 habits. HabitKit: 4 habits. Routinery: 2 routines.
  • Five more say unlimited habits is something you pay for (Productive, Fabulous, Strides, Way of Life, HabitMinder) but do not say how many the free tier allows.
  • Three say the core app is free without naming a cap: Habitica ("can be fully enjoyed for free"), Finch ("core self-care features are free") and everyday ("free forever").
  • Streaks is not free: $5.99 upfront, up to 24 tasks, no in-app purchases listed.
  • HabitShare lists no purchases at all; its last update on the App Store is dated January 27, 2023.
  • The other eleven say nothing about a free limit on the listing or the site we checked. That does not mean there is no limit. It means you find out after you install.

The audit table

"Not stated" means we looked at the App Store listing and the developer's site on October 1, 2026 and found no number. In-app prices are the range Apple shows on the US listing; they include intro offers and duplicates, so treat them as a range, not a price list.

AppFree tier, as statedPaid model (from the listing)In-app prices listedAds, as stated
Habitify3 habitsSubscription or lifetime$8.99–$119.99Not stated
HabitKit4 habitsSubscription or lifetime$0.99–$59.99"No ads"
Routinery2 routinesSubscription$0.99–$39.49Free plan shows ads
StreaksPaid app, $5.99; up to 24 tasksOne-time purchaseNone listedNot stated
ProductiveCapped; number not statedSubscription$3.99–$79.99Not stated
FabulousCapped; number not statedSubscription$16.99–$59.99Not stated
StridesCapped; number not statedSubscription or lifetime$4.99–$149.99Not stated
Way of LifeCapped; number not statedPremium (type not stated)$4.99–$29.99Not stated
HabitMinderCapped; number not statedSubscription or one-time$0.99–$59.99"No ads"
HabiticaNo cap stated; "fully enjoyed for free"Optional subscription and gems$0.99–$47.99Not stated
FinchNo cap stated; core features freeSubscription (Finch Plus)$5.99–$69.99Not stated
everydayNo cap stated; "free forever"Subscription or lifetime$7.49–$99.99Not stated
HabitShareNo paid tier listedNoneNone listedNot stated
Me+Not statedSubscription$7.99–$69.99Not stated
Habit Tracker (Inner Grow)Not statedSubscription or lifetime$2.99–$12.99Not stated
GritNot statedSubscription or lifetime$1.99–$44.99Not stated
AtomsNot statedSubscription$4.99–$39.99Not stated
(Not Boring) HabitsNot statedSubscription or lifetime$4.99–$59.99"No ads"
Dear MeNot statedMembership (type not stated)$6.99–$79.99Not stated
EdenNot statedSubscription$4.99–$39.99Not stated
CubNot statedSubscription$8.49–$59.99Not stated
Habit-BullNot statedSubscription and an upgrade$4.99–$19.99Not stated
HelloHabitNot statedPremium (type not stated)$4.99–$59.99Not stated
Habit RabbitNot statedIn-app currency packs$1.99–$59.99Not stated
Orbit (ours)No cap on logs; 3 to 7 pillars, up to 5 named goals eachNone in version 1.0None listedNo ads
Glass jar labeled 'Savings' filled with coins, beside a calculator on a blue background.
Glass jar labeled 'Savings' filled with coins, beside a calculator on a blue background.

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Pexels

Why the cap matters more than the price

Most people searching for a free habit tracker are not trying to avoid paying forever. They are trying to avoid starting a routine, building three weeks of history, and then hitting a wall on habit number five. The wall is where people quit, and the history stays behind.

A cap of three or four habits is a reasonable trial for someone with a short list. It is a problem for anyone whose routine already has water, a walk, sleep and something for the mind. So the question to ask is not "is it free?" but "is my list shorter than the free number?"

What "unlimited" can still hide

An app that does not cap habits can cap something else. In the listings we read, paid tiers also unlock:

  • Reminders. HabitKit's Pro adds "up to three reminders per habit"; Habitify's paid plan adds "smart reminders".
  • Widgets. HabitKit lists home screen widgets under Pro.
  • Export and backup. HabitKit lists import and export under Pro. Way of Life lists CSV and Excel export. Routinery says it has no export button and offers its data through an AI connection instead.
  • Ads. Routinery says its free plan shows ads. HabitKit, HabitMinder and (Not Boring) Habits say they have none.
  • Tracking. Eight of the 24 other apps declare "Data Used to Track You" on their App Store privacy label: Me+, Productive, Fabulous, Routinery, Grit, Dear Me, HelloHabit and Habit Rabbit. That label is the developer's own declaration and Apple does not verify it.
A close-up shot of a planner and keyboard on a desk, showcasing organization.
A close-up shot of a planner and keyboard on a desk, showcasing organization.

Photo by Walls.io on Pexels

What the paid tiers do better

Paid tiers are not a trick. Several are cheap and buy real things. HabitKit's lifetime option is listed from $14.99, Habit Tracker (Inner Grow) lists a $9.89 lifetime purchase, and Streaks costs $5.99 once with no subscription at all. Habitify's paid plan adds Apple Health integrations and timers, and Streaks runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch. If you want a habit app on your watch today, Orbit cannot help: it is iPhone only.

Habitica deserves its own line: its listing says the whole app "can be fully enjoyed for free", subscriptions are optional, and it runs on the web and Android as well as iPhone, according to Habitica's own help pages.

Where Orbit fits, honestly

We make Orbit. It is free on the App Store with no in-app purchases in version 1.0, it has no ads, and its App Store release date is October 6, 2026. There is no cap on how many times you log. Your routine lives in three to seven pillars (sleep, movement, food and so on), and each pillar can hold up to five named goals. If you want 30 separate habits each with its own streak, Orbit is shaped differently and Streaks or Habitify will suit you better.

Two things to know before you choose it: Orbit had no App Store ratings when we checked on October 1, 2026, because it was not yet released, and a free product can add paid features later. If Orbit ever adds a paid tier, its App Store listing will show the purchases before this page is updated.

How to find any app's cap in two minutes

  1. Read the listing to the end. Caps, when stated, hide in the last paragraph or in "Subscription information".
  2. Scroll to In-App Purchases on the listing. If every item says Premium or Plus, something is behind it.
  3. Install, skip any trial offer, and add one more habit than the number you need.
  4. Check whether reminders, widgets and export work without paying, if you care about them.
  5. Check the privacy label for "Data Used to Track You".

Method and limits

We read 25 US App Store listings and, where one exists, the developer's site, on October 1, 2026. We used Apple's public lookup data for prices and ratings. We did not install or test the apps. A "not stated" cell is a finding about the listing, not about the app. Prices vary by country and by offer. We will re-check this table monthly and note what changed.

Questions people ask

Which free habit tracker has unlimited habits?

Of the 24 other apps we checked, Habitica says it can be fully enjoyed for free, Finch says its core features are free, and everyday says it is free forever; none of the three states a habit cap. HabitShare lists no purchases at all. Check the cap yourself by adding one more habit than you need.

How many habits does Habitify allow for free?

Three, according to Habitify's own pricing page on October 1, 2026. Its paid plans add unlimited habits.

How many habits does HabitKit allow for free?

Four, according to its App Store listing on October 1, 2026, including streaks, statistics, notes and reminders. Pro adds unlimited habits, widgets and import and export.

Is Streaks free?

No. Streaks is a paid app at $5.99 on the US App Store with no in-app purchases listed, and its listing says you can track up to 24 tasks.

Is Orbit free?

Orbit is free on the App Store with no in-app purchases in version 1.0. We make Orbit, so check the listing yourself: if that ever changes, the listing will show it before this page does.

ShareXFacebook

Sources

  1. Habitify pricing page (free: 3 habits)
  2. HabitKit on the App Store (free with up to four habits)
  3. HabitKit help centre: why some features are limited in the free version
  4. Routinery on the App Store (2 routines free; free plan shows ads)
  5. Streaks on the App Store ($5.99, up to 24 tasks)
  6. Finch: free vs. Plus (finchcare.com)
  7. Habitica on the App Store (optional purchases)
  8. Habitica's own help text (FAQ strings in its public source code: web, iOS and Android)
  9. Productive on the App Store (Premium: unlimited number of habits)
  10. Fabulous on the App Store (Premium: unlimited habits)
  11. Strides on the App Store (Plus: unlimited trackers)
  12. Way of Life on the App Store (unlimited items require premium)
  13. HabitMinder on the App Store (Premium: unlimited habits)
  14. Apple iTunes Lookup API (ratings, price, update dates)
  15. Orbit on the App Store

Published by Orbit Editorial. General information, not medical advice. How we write and check guides. Spotted a mistake? Tell us.

Keep reading

More on habits →